BTEC Level 4 (HNC) in Construction & the Built Environment (Construction Pathway)

Course discription

The BTEC Higher National qualifications in Construction and the Built Environment (Construction) are aimed at students wanting to continue their education through applied learning. Higher Nationals provide a wide-ranging study of the construction and the built environment sector and are designed for students who wish to pursue or advance their career in construction and the built environment. In addition to the knowledge, understanding and skills that underpin the study of the construction and the built environment sector, BTEC Higher Nationals give students experience of the breadth and depth of the sector that will prepare them for further study or training.

What does it include? Example of units and course content

Year 1 Units
Unit 2 Construction Technology
Unit 3 Science & Materials
Unit 5 Legal & Statutory Responsibilities in Construction
Unit 7 Surveying, Measuring & Setting Out
Group/ individual tutorial

Year 2 Units
Unit 1 Individual Project
Unit 4 Construction Practice & Management
Unit 6 Construction Information (Drawing, Detailing, Specification)
Unit 13 Tender and Procurement
Group/ individual tutorial

What qualifications do I need?

All applications will be considered individually however offers will usually be based on:

64 UCAS points (those with 48 UCAS points will be considered for an interview)
BTEC Level 3 qualification (2 years) in relevant subject
Other related Level 3 qualifications
Normally 4 GCSEs at grade C or above (or numeric score of 4/5 under newly reformed GCSE grading), including maths or English
An Access to Higher Education Diploma in relevant area

Related work experience will be considered in place of formal qualifications


What can I do next? Key progression pathways are…

The Level 4 BTEC Higher National Certificate provides a solid grounding in construction and the built environment, vendor accredited certification and Professional Body membership, upon which students can build, should they decide to continue their studies beyond the Certificate stage. For example the Level 5 BTEC Higher National Diploma allows students to specialise by committing to specific career paths and progression routes to top-up to Level 6. In addition, the qualifications may provide links to industry-related and employer-supported apprenticeship schemes that can provide further opportunities for enhanced employability.

Did you like this? Share it: